Oct 8, 2014 9:28 AM

The 2014 Nobel Prizes at a glance

The Associated Press

STOCKHOLM (AP) The 2014 Nobel Prizes are being announced this week and next by committees in Stockholm and Oslo. Here is a list of which awards have already been announced, and which are coming up. The $1.1 million awards will be handed out on Dec. 10, the anniversary of prize founder Alfred Nobel's death in 1896.


U.S.-British scientist John O'Keefe split the Nobel Prize in medicine with Norwegian couple May-Britt Moser and Edvard Moser on Monday for breakthroughs in brain cell research that could pave the way for a better understanding of diseases like Alzheimer's.


Isamu Akasaki and Hiroshi Amano of Japan and Japanese-born U.S. scientist Shuji Nakamura won the Nobel Prize in physics on Tuesday for the invention of blue light-emitting diodes, which promises to revolutionize the way the world lights its homes and offices and already helps create the glowing screens of mobile phones, computers and TVs.


U.S. researchers Eric Betzig and William Moerner and Stefan Hell of Germany won the Nobel Prize in chemistry on Wednesday for finding ways to make microscopes more powerful than previously thought possible, allowing scientists to see how diseases develop inside the tiniest cells.


The Nobel Prize in literature will be announced by the Swedish Academy on Thursday at 1100 GMT (7 a.m. EDT).


The Nobel Peace Prize will be announced by the Norwegian Nobel Committee on Friday at 0900 GMT (5 a.m. EDT).


The Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences will be announced by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences on Oct. 13 at 1100 GMT (7 a.m. EDT).


--  Dealing with the Disease of Addiction? Click here for help --

More from NH1.com

NH1 News Debates
NH1 News Replay

NH1 on Twitter

NH1 SkyView Cameras

NH1 on Facebook

Check out NH1 News Rail Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome