Jan 18, 2016 11:28 AM
Massachusetts could follow NH's lead in instituting hands-free distracted driving law
BOSTON (AP) —The Granite State's neighbors to the south could be following in its footsteps on the road.
Motorists in Massachusetts may soon have to put down their cellphones when they're on the road.
A bill prohibiting the use of hand-held mobile electronic devices while driving would also make it illegal to enter information by hand into a GPS device while behind the wheel.
Motorists could still talk on their cellphones, but only with hands-free technology. Exceptions would be made for emergency situations.
The bill calls for a fine of $100 for the first violation, $250 the second time and $500 for all violations after that. Three-time offenders would be hit with an auto insurance surcharge.
Fourteen states including Connecticut, New Hampshire, Vermont and New York have hands-free cellphone laws.
The state Senate is scheduled to debate the bill Thursday in its first session of the new year.