Mar 15, 2016 12:36 PM

Manchester Police Chief Nick Willard named to national drug task force

MANCHESTER - Police Chief Nick Willard has been named to a new national task force to address the nation's opioid epidemic.

Manchester's police chief Nick Willard testifies on NH's drug epidemic on Capitol Hill

Willard has been very vocal about the problem in New Hampshire's largest city as well as across the state.

On Jan. 27 Willard attended a U.S. Senate hearing to push for more money to fight the crisis.

NH1 News Exclusive: Meth a new threat in Manchester's battle with drugs

The opioid crisis in the Queen City killed 96 people in 2015 and 20 already in 2016, according to American Medical Response.

It has gained national attention through the police force's crackdown on drug sales through Operation Granite Hammer.

The new National League of Cities and National Association of Counties joint task force includes leaders from across the country. The goal is to enhance awareness, create peer-based discussion and identify solutions.

NLC members:
1. Co-Chair—Mayor Mark Stodola, Little Rock, Ark.
2. Councilmember Leta Mach, Greenbelt, Md.
3. Mayor Nan Whaley, Dayton, Ohio
4. Mayor Steve Williams, Huntington, W.V.
5. Police Chief Nick Willard, Manchester, N.H.
6. Council President Ceasar Mitchell, Atlanta, Ga.
7. City Manager Lee Feldman, Fort Lauderdale, Fla.
8. Mayor and Councilmember Walt Allen, Corvina, Calif.
9. Councilmember Joel Navarro, Tempe Ariz.
10. Executive Director Geoff Beckwith, Massachusetts Municipal Association
11. Councilmember Lavonta Williams, Witchita, Kansas
12. Ex-Officio: NLC President Melodee Colbert-Kean, councilmember, Joplin, Mo.

NACo members:
1. Co-Chair - Judge/Executive Gary Moore, Boone County, Ky.
2. Commissioner Matt Bell, Weber County, Utah
3. Commissioner Doug Corcoran, Ross County, Ohio
4. County Executive Kathy Dahlkemper, Erie County, Pa.
5. Dr. Vidya Kora, commissioner, LaPorte County, Ind.
6. Commissioner Waymon Mumford, Florence County, S.C.
7. Supervisor Leticia Perez, Kern County, Calif.
8. County Executive Mark Poloncarz, Erie County, N.Y.
9. Commissioner Greg Puckett, Mercer County, W.V.
10. County Executive Steve Schuh, Anne Arundel County, Md.
11. Commissioner Judy Shiprack, Multnomah County, Ore.
12. Ex-Officio: NACo President Sallie Clark, commissioner, El Paso County, Colo.

--  Need a new car or even a boat? Click here to check out the all-new NH1 Motors --



Must Read on

NH1 Dining

NH1 on Facebook

NH1 on Twitter