Jul 1, 2015 9:57 AM
The Associated Press
CONCORD (AP) — New Hampshire is now the 15th state to bar drivers from using hand-held cellphones while driving.
The new "hands-free" law, in effect as of Wednesday, applies to all hand-held devices, including GPS units, tablets and laptops.
Violators face a $100 fine for the first offense, $250 for a second offense and $500 for subsequent offenses within a 24-month period.
Bluetooth or other hands-free electronic devices will be allowed.
Police say in the last four years, distraction was the cause of 124 crashes on N.H. roads.
25 minutes 38 seconds agoGovernor-elect Chris Sununu says it’s crucial for Granite State Republicans to “stay disciplined” and “stay positive.” And in a one-on-one interview with NH1 News,...
1 hour 22 minutes agoFormer astronaut and U.S. Sen. John Glenn has died in Ohio. He was 95. (More)
5 hours 23 minutes agoNew England Patriots star WR Julian Edelman posted a photo to Instagram holding baby Lily - seemingly acknowledging that he is her father for...
5 hours 47 minutes agoA Merrimack photography studio abruptly closed leaving dozens of families without their paid portraits. (More)
5 hours 53 minutes agoManchester NH police responded to a residence on Sullivan Street for a report of an armed burglary. (More)
19 hours 59 minutes agoLongtime New Hampshire Secretary of State Bill Gardner made the case Wednesday for improving the state’s election laws. In his acceptance speech after state...