NH1 News Debates


Aug 27, 2016 11:50 AM

Farmers in drought-stricken counties eligible for help

The Associated Press

CONCORD (AP) — Farmers in most New Hampshire counties may be eligible for federal help recovering from this summer's drought.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has granted Gov. Maggie Hassan's request to designate Hillsborough, Merrimack and Rockingham counties as primary natural disaster areas. Five other counties — Belknap, Cheshire, Grafton, Strafford and Sullivan — have been deemed contiguous disaster counties. Farm operators in each of the eight counties are eligible to apply for federal assistance.

Farmers interested in applying for assistance should contact their local Farm Service Agency office.


--  Dealing with the Disease of Addiction? Click here for help --

More from NH1.com

NH1 News Debates
NH1 News Replay

NH1 on Twitter

NH1 SkyView Cameras

NH1 on Facebook

Check out NH1 News Rail Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome