NH1 News Debates


Mar 4, 2015 9:28 PM

Elizabeth McCracken wins $20,000 short story prize

The Associated Press

NEW YORK (AP) Elizabeth McCracken, a fiction writer praised for her sharply detailed stories of grief and disaster, has won a $20,000 prize.

McCracken won the Story Prize for her collection "Thunderstruck," award officials announced Thursday night. Her other books include the novel "The Giant's House" and the memoir "An Exact Replica of a Figment of My Imagination."

The two finalists Thursday, Lorrie Moore for "Bark" and Francesca Marciano for "The Other Language," will each receive $5,000.

The Story Prize, underwritten by the nonprofit Chisholm Foundation, was established in 2004 and honors the author "of an outstanding collection of short fiction." Previous winners include Mary Gordon, Anthony Doerr and George Saunders.


--  Dealing with the Disease of Addiction? Click here for help --

More from NH1.com

NH1 News Debates
NH1 News Replay

NH1 on Twitter

NH1 SkyView Cameras

NH1 on Facebook

Check out NH1 News Rail Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome