Jul 1, 2015 8:25 PM
CONCORD- There are signs posted all over New Hampshire highways reminding motorists of the new hands-free law in an effort to combat distracted driving.
Starting on Wednesday, it became illegal to use any hand-held device while driving, including talking on a cellphone or using a GPS.
Calls can be made from the car using Bluetooth and other hands-free technology. Most recent models have Bluetooth built in.
For some, it will be a tough habit to break. Others have been hands-free for years.
“I went to a couple of stores. They were sold out so just kind of waiting for them to get replenished,” said John Fournier, of Hooksett.
The signs on the highway warn drivers that the law will be enforced. The first offense will get you a $100 fine. By the third offense, you’ll pay up to $500.
11 hours 14 minutes agoJeanie Forrester says she “was honored” when Governor-elect Chris Sununu called her and asked the former state senator to consider running for New Hampshire...
11 hours 55 minutes agoAn apartment fire that displaced 18 residents was caused by a dryer, firefighters said. (More)
12 hours 4 minutes agoGovernor-elect Chris Sununu says it’s crucial for Granite State Republicans to “stay disciplined” and “stay positive.” And in a one-on-one interview with NH1 News,...
13 hours 1 minute agoFormer astronaut and U.S. Sen. John Glenn has died in Ohio. He was 95. (More)
17 hours 2 minutes agoNew England Patriots star WR Julian Edelman posted a photo to Instagram holding baby Lily - seemingly acknowledging that he is her father for...
17 hours 26 minutes agoA Merrimack photography studio abruptly closed leaving dozens of families without their paid portraits. (More)