Jun 2, 2015 7:26 PM

Calder Cup uncharted territory for Manchester Monarchs


Hockey fans across New Hampshire are looking forward to the upcoming Calder Cup finals as the Manchester Monarchs, the Eastern Conference champs, will meet the Western Conference champions. The winner gets to hoist the Calder Cup.

Beginning Saturday night, the Manchester Monarchs will host their first ever Calder Cup finals game against either Utica or Grand Rapids at the Verizon Wireless Arena.

In their 14 year history, the Monarchs have never advanced to the finals so this is uncharted territory for the team.

The Calder Cup is awarded annually to the champions of the American Hockey League. It is the second oldest actively awarded professional ice hockey playoff trophy after the Stanley Cup. It was first presented in 1937, and it's named for Frank Calder, who was the

first president of the National Hockey League. The cup is made of sterling silver mounted on a base of Brazilian mahogany.

In its current shape, the trophy has a two-tiered square base with commemorative plaques for each of the AHL's 20 most recent champions - twelve on the bottom tier and 8 on the top tier. Each time a new championship plaque is added, the oldest plaque is retired and joins a display at the hockey hall of fame in Toronto.

The Hershey Bears have won the cup more times than any other team, with eleven victories in franchise history.


--  Dealing with the Disease of Addiction? Click here for help --

More from NH1.com

NH1 News Debates
NH1 News Replay

NH1 on Twitter

NH1 SkyView Cameras

NH1 on Facebook

Check out NH1 News Rail Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome